Skip to main content

Wednesday 19th October 2022 and Thursday 20th October 2022 Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Sligo, Ballincar , Rosses Point Road, Sligo

Conference Details

The conference, sponsored by AIB, will take place over one full-day (Wednesday 19th Oct) and one half-day (Thursday 20th Oct) in the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Sligo, Rosses Point Road, Sligo.

  • This year’s conference, sponsored by AIB, will be a rigorous inquiry into housing finance and development for the future with themes that include:
  • sustainable and affordable housing solutions;
  • regeneration, retrofitting and innovative building technologies;
  • social value creation and Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) investing;
  • the role of international investment funds;
  • innovation and social inclusion; and
  • securing the future of the AHB sector through collaboration.

Our speakers include representatives from the public, private and non-profit sectors including our AHB member organisations, local authorities, the Department of Housing Local Government and Heritage, The Housing Agency and AIB. Panellists will be joined by housing, finance and institutional investment experts from across Europe.


  • ICSH Member Organisation : €270
  • Individual: €295
  • Private Organisation: €295
  • Voluntary and Other Organisations: €280
  • Statutory (including local authorities and elected members): €295

The conference fee includes conference documentation, lunches and conference dinner. Overnight accommodation or travel costs are not included. Each delegate will be booking and paying their own hotel account. Badges and attendee list with names, job titles and organisation will be distributed during the conference to facilitate networking. An invoice will be forwarded from the Irish Council for Social Housing requesting payment for the delegate entrance for the conference.


All those attending the event must register directly with the Irish Council for Social Housing.

Venue Address:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Sligo
Ballincar, Rosses Point Road, Sligo. F91XW7Y
Ph: 071914008.

Hotel Information

Rooms can be booked directly with the hotel while there is availability. Overnight accommodation must be booked directly with the hotel. Each delegate will be paying their own hotel account. The conference will be on Wednesday 19th October 2022 & Thursday 20th October 2022

Alternative Hotels in the area include The Glasshouse, The Sligo Park Hotel and The Clayton Sligo.

Sligo Park Hotel

Address: Sligo Park Hotel, Pearse Rd, Sligo , F91Y762
Phone number: 0719190400

The website is here.

The Clayton Hotel Sligo

Address: Clarion Road, Ballinode, Sligo
Phone number: The Clayton Hotel in Sligo is 071 911 9000

The website is here.

The Glasshouse Hotel

Address: The Glasshouse, Swan Point, Abbeyquarter North, Sligo, F91NCA4
Phone number: 0719194300
The website is here.

Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Sligo ( SOLD OUT)

How to Get There

Address: Ballincar, Rosses Point Road, Sligo F91 XW7Y, Ireland

Located near the scenic coast of Rosses Point peninsula, the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo makes a perfect stop for those traveling along Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way. The hotel is a 10-minute drive (4.5km) from Sligo city center and Rosses Point village.

By Car

  • From Ireland West Airport Knock: The drive takes 55min (57km).
  • From Belfast airport: The drive takes about 3h (200km).
  • From Dublin airport: The drive takes about 2h 45min (220km).
  • From Shannon airport: The drive takes about 2h 30min(210km).

By Train

  • From Dublin Connolly to Sligo: The journey takes about 3h 15min

By Bus

  • From Dublin Busaras to Sligo: The journey takes about 3h 45min – 4h

For queries please contact

Conference Programme

Tuesday 18 October

7pm – 9pm: Conference registration

Wednesday 19 October

8.30am: Conference registration

9.30am: Welcome by ICSH President, Pat Doyle

9.45am: Ministerial address, Minister Darragh O’Brien

10am: Social and affordable homes: capturing and delivering development opportunities

Chair: Fiona Lawless, Director of Services, Meath County Council

  • Eddie Taaffe, Programme Co-Orddinatory, LGMA Housing Delivery Co-Ordination Office
  • Martin Loughran, Director of New Business and Development, Tuath Housing
  • John Coleman, Chief Executive, Land Development Agency
  • Eduardo González, Policy Consultant, Municipal Institute for Housing and Renovation (IMHAB), Barcelona

11.15am  Tea/coffee break

11.45am Revitalising, renewing and retrofitting: housing as climate catalyst

Chair: Thomas Gilligan, Director of Services, Mayo County Council

  • Gerard O’Toole, Planning and Development Committee, Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland
  • Francis Doherty, Director of Services with Responsibility for Housing Development and Communications, Peter McVerry Trust
  • David McCourt, Co-Operative Housing Ireland Housing Ireland, Head of Asset Management and Property
  • Councillor Anne Marie Ryan, Tipperary County Council

1pm:   Lunch

2pm: Social value creation, ESG and institutional investment: issues and application in housing

Chair: Sharon Cosgrove, Chief Executive Officer, Oaklee Housing

  • Brenna O’Roarty, Executive Director, RHL Strategic Solutions
  • John Hannigan, Chief Executive Officer, Circle VHA
  • Luke Cross, Director, Social, Certified B Corporation
  • Niamh Randall, Head of Advocacy and Communications, Respond

3.15pm: Tea/coffee break

3.45pm – 5pm Parallel Sessions 

  1. Pathways to fund social inclusion

Chair: Eoin O’Sullivan, Prof in Social Policy, Trinity College Dublin

  • Aidan O’Reilly, Principal Officer, Social Housing Capital Investment, Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage
  • Brian Dillon, Cena – Culturally Appropriate Homes
  • Mags Casey, Board Member, Cena – Culturally Appropriate Homes
  • Martin O’Connor, Assistant CEO, COPE Galway
  1. Securing the future of the AHB sector: collaboration, reorganisation, and regulation

Chair: Maurice Manning, Director of Services, Cork County Council

  • Steven Sheridan, Head of Communication and Performance, AHBRA
  • Donal Coghlan, Credit Union Services
  • Kevin Ryan, Development Specialist, ICSH
  • Mick Kelliher, Chair, Thomond Housing Association
  1. Financing and developing supported housing and universal design

Chair: Martina Smith, Chief Executive Officer, HAIL

  • Barry O’Leary, Chief Executive Officer, Housing Finance Agency
  • Tina Donaghy, Director of Development, Fold Ireland
  • Mick Forde-Bradley, Senior Executive Architect, Limerick City and County Council

5.15pm: End of day

7pm: Drinks Reception (sponsored by Campbell Tickell) · Welcome from Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council, Cllr Michael Clarke

8pm: Conference Dinner

Thursday 20th October

9:30am: Leading the sector towards a sustainable financial future: new findings and supports

Chair: Martin Hannigan, Head of Finance and Corporate Services, Dublin Simon Community

  • Eddie Magowan, Senior Associate and Kathleen McKillion,Senior Associate, Campbell Tickell
  • Kate Innes, Director of Finance and Treasury, Clúid Housing
  • Bob Jordan, Chief Executive Officer, Housing Agency
  • Roger Harrington, Principal Officer, CALF, MTR and HA Acquisitions Programme, Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage
  • Susanna Lyons, Chief Executive Officer, AHBRA

11am: Tea/coffee break

11.30am:  Innovation in construction and delivery Chair: Catherine Keenan, Director of Services, Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown County Council

  • Micheál Keohane, Managing Director, Modern Homes Ireland (MHI)
  • Colm O’Mahony, Energy Engineer, South East Energy Agency
  • James Benson, Director of Strategic Delivery and Policy, Cairn Homes
  • Seán Armstrong, Head of Unit, Housing Policy Division, Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage

1pm: Close of conference and lunch