Skip to main content

The ICSH Biennial National Social Housing Conference, sponsored by AIB, is fast approaching. So please save the date (22-24 September 2021) and book your place. The conference is free to register. You can book here:

Our first online conference in 2020 was a very successful event and we’ve been honing our skills over the past 18 months to better present our engaging speakers and showcase the work of our AHB members and the broader housing sector.

This year’s Biennial Conference will again serve as a vital platform for new thinking and delivery in the housing sector. The conference will also bring together leaders and innovators from the public, private and non-profit sectors with speakers and contributors from around Ireland, Europe, USA and Singapore in Asia to share relevant learning and experience from their respective sectors.

All registered attendees can attend the online conference from 9:45am on Wednesday 22nd of September 2021 by clicking on this link here.

Download the Programme Brochure here

Conference Programme

Housing for All: The Road Ahead

9:45 – 11am Wednesday 22 September 2021

Conference Welcome from ICSH President, Pat Doyle

  • Chair: Aideen Hayden, Chairperson. Threshold
  • Darragh O’Brien, T.D, Minister for Housing, Local Government & Heritage
  • Seán O’Connor, Chief Executive, Tuath Housing
  • Thomas Gilligan, Director of Services, Mayo County Council
  • Pat Power, Director, Harcourt Developments

The Outlook for the Irish Housing Market

11am – 12pm Wednesday 22 September 2021

  • Chair: Aidan Culhane, Chief Executive, The Iveagh Trust
  • Gregorio de Castro, Deputy Head of Unit, European Commission
  • Pat O’Sullivan, Head of Real Estate Research, AIB
  • Marie Hunt, Executive Director, Research, CBRE
  • Enda McGuane, Managing Director, Winters Property Management

Public Housing – Scale, Delivery & Targets

2pm-3pm Wednesday 22 September 2021

  • Chair: Fiona Cormican, Director of New Business, Clúid Housing
  • Barry Quinlan, Assistant Secretary, Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage (DHLGH)
  • Er. Dr. Johnny Wong , Group Director, Building & Research Institute, Housing & Development Board, Singapore
  • John Hannigan, Chief Executive Officer, Circle Voluntary Housing Association

Regulation, Sustainability & Growth

3pm-4pm Wednesday 22 September 2021

  • Chair: Michael Hoey, Chairperson, HAIL
  • Susanna Lyons, Chief Executive Officer, Approved Housing Bodies Regulatory Authority (AHBRA)
  • Sharon Cosgrove, Chief Executive Officer, Oaklee Housing
  • Sarah Forster, Chief Executive Officer, The Good Economy
  • Stella McKervey, Assistant Principal Officer, Department of Housing, Local Government & Heritage

Affordability Options for All

11am – 12:30pm Thursday 23 September 2021

  • Chair: Karen Murphy, Director of Policy, ICSH
  • John Coleman, Chief Executive, Land Development Agency
  • Marc McGovern, Councillor and Former Mayor, Cambridge City Council, Massachusetts, USA 
  • Brian O’Gorman, Chief Executive, Clúid Housing
  • Hugh Brennan, Chief Executive , Ó Cualann Cohousing Alliance

Planning and Delivering Sustainable Neighbourhoods

2pm-3pm Thursday 23 September 2021

  • Chair: Colette Kelleher, Independent Advisor
  • Bob Jordan, Chief Executive Officer, The Housing Agency
  • Tony Duggan, City Architect, Cork City Council
  • Ali Harvey, Programmes Manager, The Heritage Council of Ireland
  • Pearse O’Shiel, Chair, Co-operative Housing Ireland

Innovation in Housing

3pm-4pm Thursday 23 September 2021

  • Chair: Seán Moynihan, CEO, Alone
  • Carina Dantas, CEO, SHINE 2Europe, Portugal
  • Patrick Benn, Co-owner, Clenn Construction
  • Mary O’Sullivan, Board Director, Cuan an Chláir

ICSH Allianz Community Housing Awards Ceremony 2021
Presented by Lord Mayor of Dublin Alison Gilliland

5pm-6:15pm Thursday 23 September 2021

Innovation in Addressing Special Housing Needs

10am – 11am Friday 24 September 2021

  • Chair: Mary Hayes, Director, Dublin Region Homeless Executive
  • Tom Conroy, Head of Finance and Company Secretary, Housing Finance Agency
  • Francis Doherty, Director of Services with Responsibility for Housing Development and Communications , Peter McVerry Trust (PMVT)
  • Tina Donaghy, Director of Development, Fold Housing
  • Pat Leonard, Assistance Principal with responsibility for the Capital Assistance Scheme, Department of Housing Local Government and Heritage

11am-12:30pm   Friday 24 September 2021

Future Proofing Our Housing System

  • Chair: Sorcha Edwards, Secretary General, Housing Europe
  • Lord Mayor of Dublin Allison Gilliland
  • John O’Connor, Chair Designate, Housing Commission
  • Declan Dunne, Chief Executive Officer, Respond
  • Sinéad Gibney, Chief Commissioner of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission

Conference Closing Donal McManus, CEO, ICSH

All registered attendees can attend the online conference from 9:45am on Wednesday 22nd of September 2021 by clicking on this link here.

If you have any issues with logging into the online conference please contact Mairéad Holohan. The email address is